Will you trade your playlist?

Play the way you feel it
But listen to the sound
Of your loneliness
Like a heartbeat, drives you mad
In the stillness of remembering what you had
And what you lost

Nothing is more deadly than a rhythm put together, sung to a beautiful note and strung on keys that make you want to sway along with the beats.
If you can tune out the bass drumming your ears, and that heavenly thump thump, and the memories they evoke, then you probably have a story to tell.
Don’t fall into relapses (note to self).

Give it a happy ending.

يَـٰٓأَيُّہَا ٱلَّذِينَ ءَامَنُواْ هَلۡ أَدُلُّكُمۡ عَلَىٰ تِجَـٰرَةٍ۬ تُنجِيكُم مِّنۡ عَذَابٍ أَلِيمٍ۬ (١٠) تُؤۡمِنُونَ بِٱللَّهِ وَرَسُولِهِۦ وَتُجَـٰهِدُونَ فِى سَبِيلِ ٱللَّهِ بِأَمۡوَٲلِكُمۡ وَأَنفُسِكُمۡ‌ۚ ذَٲلِكُمۡ خَيۡرٌ۬ لَّكُمۡ إِن كُنتُمۡ تَعۡلَمُونَ (١١)

O You who believe! Shall I guide you to a trade that will save you from a painful torment? That you believe in Allâh and His Messenger, and that you strive hard in the Cause of Allâh with your wealth and your lives, that will be better for you, if you but know! (61:10-11)

8 thoughts on “Will you trade your playlist?

  1. Hah. Should’ve known. :p Makes me realise that all this time that I’ve been suppressing my anger, disgust, etc.,
    and letting all that precious time slip by, I shoulda been here and typed away. Some good would have emerged certainly huh? The relevant comment is coming up below. Don’t think you should moderate this one! 😀 And can I laud you on the perfect timing?! Shakes head. 🙂

      • So you did moderate that one? Humph.
        As to revisiting the playlist, I’ve lost the number of times I go back and fish out some song from there. Sometimes several. Soon I catch myself admiring the lyrics, and then just pray and hope and try, for better resolve. Now I just tell myself you are not going to look it up, you are not. And it works too sometimes. Have found out that so long as I have good books, I don’t stray towards the less useful or damaging ones. In the same way, so long as you are better connected to good poetry and the Quran, you have a better chance of keeping this behind you. I was just now doin the same after keeping away for a while, and so feeling very guilty, totally weak and well, sinful. 😦 May Allah give us strength in these efforts Insha Allah, and may He help us pursue noble and nobler endeavours. Ameen. Took up a lot of space here, I see. 🙂

What say you?

